Recycled Mosaics

Art Made with Recycled Candy and Drink Labels

Firewheels on a Hot Summer Day – 12 x 18

I wondered how I cofirewheelsuld describe an entire field of firewheels, roasting in 100+ degree weather.  They almost seem burned by the sun, not as delicate.  When I made the smaller one, I caught that surprise in the flaws of this process.  The strong colors look great. It was quite a struggle to find a good point in changing the red over to yellow on the petals.  So I left the red to be closer to a tomato orange in order for the center to have more depth.

Update: I am selling giclee prints in my new website of this mosaic and others. Click on the button to take you to the store.

2 comments on “Firewheels on a Hot Summer Day – 12 x 18

  1. Steve Schwartzman
    July 29, 2011

    I often notice all sorts of human detritus in nature when I’m out photographing native plants, but I confess I’ve never seen a firewheel surrounded with as many human elements as this. As a former math teacher, I appreciate how your process emphasizes the curves in the structure of the flower.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • dcescott
      July 29, 2011

      Thanks Steve. I like your site, a lot. I live in Fort Worth and I’d spot these while I’m in the left turn lane going home from work. This is one of my favorites that was on my list to make. I might come back to them again someday for a second round.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

